

Minutes of Meeting Working Group on Consumer Product Safety, November 6th, 2018

As indicated in its concept note, the purpose of this working group is to provide a forum for member States representatives and relevant stakeholders interested in exchanging experiences about mechanisms to detect, minimize, and tackle the risks to the health and safety of consumers due to defective products.

The working group will meet 4 times from November 2018 to May 2019. The outcome of its deliberation will be presented during the Fourth Session of the IGE on consumer protection law and policy.

The first meeting on November 6th, 2017 the participants (list attached) discussed the definition of safety products and the classification of the goods that would be the subject of the WG. The participants have decided:

- a. To work on the definition of safety product by sharing information on existing legal definitions; especially considering the ones adopted by OECD and the European Union.
- b. To work on the classification of the goods that would be subject of the WG excluding food and medicine.
- c. To work on goods for children and vulnerable groups of consumers.

Finally, some Member States representatives suggested to discuss among themselves and prior to the next conference call points a. b. and c. and present its conclusions to the working group.

All participants of this group shall send their views and opinions during next weeks. Our next conference call will be held on the **January 12th, 2019**.



List of Participants

	Name	Agency/Organization
1.	Beatriz de Morra	Argentina
2	Jan Deconick	Belgium
3.	Daniella Parra	Sernac - Chile
4.	Richard O'Brien	CPSC - United States
5.		Superintendence of Industry and Commerce - Colombia
6.	Anina del Castillo	Proconsumidor - Dominican Republic
7.		France
8.		Germany
9.		Agencia Catalana de Consumo
10	Yvonne Stein	Ministry of Finance Sweden
11	Damla Arafal	Ministry of Customs and Trade - Turkey
12		Tanzania
13	Lara Godden	Office for Product Safety and Standards - United Kingdom
14	Lidiya Osaulenko	Eurasian Economic Commission
	Ella Kapustina	
	Sergei Sinyakov	
	Sergei Kulikov	
15	Antonino Serra	Consumers International
16	Matthew NICE	International Narcotics Control Board (Vienna)
17	Kitosi	
18		